The Albert Dock, Liverpool


  • Originally opened in 1846 by its namesake, Prince Albert, the Albert Dock is today the largest set of Grade 1 listed buildings in the UK
  • It is home to an eclectic collection of unique cultural attractions including Tate Liverpool, the Beatles Story and the International Slavery Museum
  • Situated on Liverpool's famous waterfront (now part of the new World Heritage Site) adjacent to the Pier Head and the celebrated Three Graces, the Albert Dock is both close to the city centre and within easy reach of 1.5 million people, with extensive rail, bus, road and boat connections


  • From the drawing up of plans in 1982 to the official re-opening in 1988 it took six years for the Albert Dock to be redeveloped


  • The dock was closed to shipping in 1972 and lay derelict until the early1980s when it was redeveloped by Arrowcroft Group plc through its subsidiary, the Albert Dock Co Ltd, with funding from the Merseyside Development Corporation
  • Plans were prepared in 1982, work began in 1983 and the first phase was opened in 1984 in time for the arrival of the Tall Ships Race and the International Garden Festival
  • The official re-opening ceremony was performed by Prince Charles on 24 May 1988


  • An imaginative approach to the revitalisation of the area has lain behind the success of the Albert Dock. The careful refurbishment of its hugely important collection of historic buildings has combined with the wide range of new uses, to draw in visitors to a previously under-used part of the city
  • The Albert Dock is now Merseyside's most visited tourist attraction, with 15-20% of visitors to Merseyside passing through it - five million a year
  • Neighbourhood regeneration schemes are predicted to add a further 1.5million visitors a year to the waterfront area



Tel: 0151 708 7334